clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Benny The Butcher takes us home in “Thanksgiving” visual

The track is taken from Benny and Harry Fraud’s ‘The Plugs I Met 2’ project.

Benny The Butcher
Benny The Butcher
Video screenshot/The Wizard

This Friday (March 19), Benny The Butcher and Harry Fraud will release The Plugs I Met 2, which follows Benny’s 2019 breakout project The Plugs I Met. The EP will see nine cuts with additional appearances from Chinx, 2 Chainz, Fat Joe, French Montana, Jim Jones, and Rick Hyde.

Over the weekend, Benny and Fraud liberated a single from the forthcoming drop titled “Thanksgiving,” which sees the former rapping about his drive for success and wanting his well-deserved flowers:

“At the table, rackin’ my brain like, “How I’m back in the game?” Went and did that lil’ bid, now my hoes ain’t actin’ the same, stressin’, I did them sentences without stackin’ no change, gettin’ high inside, knowin’ my pride ain’t matchin’ my wage/”

The visual for “Thanksgiving” comes courtesy of The Wizard and shows Benny back up north with his comrades, standing tall despite last year’s shooting and robbery attempt in Houston. Shots of Benny and his crew are mixed with scenes of close ones responding to said shooting and a well-acted retaliation reenactment.

Last year, Benny The Butcher teamed up with Hit-Boy for Burden of Proof, highly considered to be his best body of work to date. Burden of Proof contained 12 cuts with a wealth of assists from Rick Ross, Freddie Gibbs, Big Sean, Lil Wayne, Dom Kennedy, Queen Naija, and Griselda cohorts Westside Gunn and Conway The Machine. Add in Westside and Conway’s own releases, and it would be safe to say that the Griselda brand were the leaders of 2020 overall.

Check out both “Thanksgiving” and the full tracklist for The Plugs I Met 2 below.

The Plugs I Met 2 tracklist:

  1. “When Tony Met Sosa”
  2. “Overall” feat. Chinx
  3. “Plug Talk” feat. 2 Chainz
  4. “Live By It”
  5. “Talkin’ Back” feat. Fat Joe
  6. “No Instructions”
  7. “Longevity” feat. French Montana and Jim Jones
  8. “Survivor’s Remorse” feat. Rick Hyde
  9. “Thanksgiving”

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.