clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Headie One is the life of the party in his latest video for “Cry”

‘Too Loyal for My Own Good’ officially drops at midnight (Oct. 1).

Headie One Video screenshot/Capone

When the clock strikes midnight (Oct. 1), Headie One will unveil his latest body of work Too Loyal for My Own Good, which comes with 13 dope cuts from the Tottenham emcee and — as of this posting — no additional features. Up until now, the mixtape was led by top tier visuals for “2 Chains” and “Beggars Can’t Be Choosers.”

Just before the aforementioned release makes landfall, Headie One decided to bless us with another clip for “Cry,” a GRADES-backed offering that borrows from Seals & Crofts’ “Sweet Green Fields,” a sample that listeners should immediately recognize as the same one used by Busta Rhymes and Epitome for the When Disaster Strikes... classic “Put Your Hands Where My Eyes Could See.” The infectious production is perfect for Headie One’s more lively, jubilant subject matter:

“I had armed jakes, spinnin’ off my ride for some posers, now they gotta watch, everybody toast us, yo it’s a celebration, young black brothas being celebrated, elevation, no more separation...”

Directed by Capone, the accompanying clip looks to match those lines to a T, as most of it shows Headie One with his crew living it up in a restaurant, complete with all of the tangible signs of success — high-end dining, beautiful women, bottles of champagne, expensive threads, and more. In addition to the other partygoers, Headie can even be seen cutting a run throughout, making it clear that he’s all about positive vibes moving forward.

Check out Headie One’s “Cry” video below, along with the full tracklisting for Too Loyal for My Own Good.

Too Loyal for My Own Good tracklist:

  1. “Too Loyal...”
  2. “Love Me for Me?”
  3. “Beggars Can’t Be Choosers”
  4. “2 Chains”
  5. “Nothing to Me”
  6. “Cry”
  7. “Talk Is Cheap”
  8. “Louis Vuitton Collar”
  9. “Indecisive Interlude”
  10. “Long Night in Knightsbridge”
  11. “PTSD”
  12. “Satisfy Me”
  13. “...For My Own Good”

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.