clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Teyana Taylor reveals ‘The Album’ release date and features

See the album’s tracklist here before it drops on Juneteenth.

Teyana Taylor Getty Images/Jacopo Raule

Teyana Taylor has announced a Juneteenth (June 19) release date for The Album and revealed its list of collaborators. The project will see features from Rick Ross, Erykah Badu, Quavo, Kehlani, Missy Elliott, Future, Big Sean, Ms. Lauryn Hill, King Combs, Davido and Taylor’s husband and daughter Iman Shumpert and Junie.

The announcement arrives after Taylor revealed that she and Shumpert are expecting their second child in her “Wake Up Love” music video. The clip is one of several self-directed videos from Taylor as she’s geared up to drop The Album. The Harlem-bred multi-talent was acknowledged for her directing skills earlier this week with a BET Awards nomination for Video Director of the Year.

Details about the The Album have been sparse, but Taylor previously revealed the project was “definitely more of a vibe.”

“I don’t really do fast songs like that,” she said during an Instagram Live Q&A. “There are some head-boppers. It’s not super-fast. You can dance and you can cry and you can ride.”

“Before I got on with y’all, we literally just did the listening of the album,” she also said in the Q&A. “Y’all gonna be so happy.”

Speaking with Entertainment Weekly, Taylor also previously disclosed that The Album would have a “better rollout, more records [and] longer records” than its predecessor, K.T.S.E. She also explained she was focused on “fixing what didn’t work” with K.T.S.E., which was produced by Kanye West and released in 2018.

“It’s not about not liking [K.T.S.E.],” she told the outlet. “It’s about the fact that it was not long enough, verses were taken out, a lot of stuff I didn’t know happened with my album until I actually heard the album like everybody else.”

Fans will recognize the previously released tracks “Made It,” “Bare Wit Me,” “We Got Love” featuring M.s Lauryn Hill, “How You Want It” with King Combs, “Mornin’” featuring Kehlani and “Wake Up Love,” which includes a verse from her husband.

Peep the tracklist and Taylor’s announcement below.

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.