After what seemed like an unstoppable trajectory to the top of hip hop’s stardom, Houston star Megan Thee Stallion found herself in the midst of controversy — she ran into big problems with her label, putting the future of her music career in doubt. Thankfully, a judge decided that she could release music as the litigation continues. During a recent interview at Hot 97, she explained how she wished that the conflict didn’t even take place:

”If you know me you know I don’t like going back and forth, I don’t like a lot of confrontation… You really gotta push me to upset me, or for me to even address something. So I feel like, you know, it was just time to say something.”

As a result of her victory, fans are able to check out her new project Suga, which sees nine new tracks and features from Kehlani and Gunna. Previously thought to be her official debut album, she also revealed during the aforementioned sit-down that this was an EP appetizer to hold fans over until said album finally arrives:

“I’m not even gonna call it an album, because I’m still in the middle of making my album. When the situation came up, I’m like, ‘Oh my god I gotta put out this music. I don’t want to just leave my fans with nothing ‘cause I don’t know what’s gonna happen.’ The music that I have made and the songs that I really really like so far, I was like, ‘Let’s just drop this shit on the EP.’”

Press play on Suga below, which is available on all major streaming platforms. Hopefully, fans will be able to enjoy more music from Megan once she reaches closure in regards to her current legal battles.

Suga tracklisting:

  1. “Ain’t Equal”
  2. “Savage”
  3. “Captain Hook”
  4. “Hit My Phone” Feat. Kehlani
  5. “B.I.T.C.H.”
  6. “Rich”
  7. “Stop Playing” Feat. Gunna
  8. “Crying In The Car”
  9. “What I Need”