Common teams up with Black Thought and Seun Kuti for “When We Move”
Photo: Loma Vista/Concord
Common teams up with Black Thought and Seun Kuti for “When We Move”
The collaboration is taken from Common’s forthcoming album ‘A Beautiful Revolution, Pt. 2.’

Come September 10, Common will liberate his latest body of work A Beautiful Revolution, Pt. 2, a direct continuation of last year’s A Beautiful Revolution (Pt. 1). This go ‘round, fans will get 11 tracks and contributions from Jessica Care Moore, Morgan Parker, Brittany Howard, Isaiah Sharkey, Marcus King, PJ, and more. Following July’s “Imagine,” the Chicago legend drops off another single from the full-length sequel titled “When We Move,” a Karriem Riggins-produced number that features Black Thought and Seun Kuti, the son of the iconic Fela Kuti — all of whom effortlessly add to the celebration of Black love, beauty, and power:

“My people were made in whose likeness? Boy, fly niggas ain’t never flew like this, pitch black butterfly from the other side, somebody’s style was lost, it wasn’t mine, I’m in a small demographic, of real ones dealin’ with all things classic, king’s fabric, linen and silk, from the home of the solid gold honey and milk, the ones who built it from the mud, soil and sand, a Black man, the world in the skin of his hand…”

To help promote the song, Common also recently stopped by “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon,” where he delivered a lively rendition of “When We Move” alongside Thought and The Roots. He also took part in a humorous “Rap Remix” segment, where Common provided bars over instrumentals from Super Mario Bros, “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” and Rick Astley.

Check it all out below, along with a full tracklisting for A Beautiful Revolution, Pt. 2.

A Beautiful Revolution, Pt. 2 tracklist:

  1. “Intro (Push Out The Noise)” feat. Jessica Care Moore
  2. “A Beautiful Chicago Kid” feat. PJ
  3. “When We Move” feat. Black Thought and Seun Kuti
  4. “Set It Free” feat. PJ
  5. “Majesty (Where We Gonna Take It)” feat. PJ
  6. “Poetry” feat. Isaiah Sharkey & Marcus King
  7. “Saving Grace” feat. Brittany Howard
  8. “Star Of The Gang” feat. PJ
  9. “Imagine” feat. PJ
  10. “Get It Right”
  11. “OUTRO (Exclamation Point)” feat. Morgan Parker