Months after the release of his official debut album ADHD, Joyner Lucas returns with a new project titled Evolution, which sees 13 tracks with features from Rick Ross, Ashanti, The Game, and more. Evolution was also preceded by the singles “Fall Slowly” and “Snitch.”

Evolution was first announced in August and was set to be released as an EP the following month, which Lucas explained via his social media:

“‘ADHD’ and ‘EVOLUTION’ are sonically completely different. ‘ADHD’ had a lot of mainstream Joyner. Evolution was created with zero intent to make mainstream records. … Evolution is my 1st person perspective and reality in today’s climate, as well as the traumatic things I’ve been through in the past that made me who I am.. I personally think this EP is the Joyner you been waiting for…”

In addition to the new bodies of work this year, Joyner Lucas also returned to the explosive freestyles that landed him at the top of today’s lyricists, putting his own twist on tracks like Jack Harlow’s “WHAT’S POPPIN” and DaBaby’s “Suge,” the latter being done alongside past competitor turned collaborator Tory Lanez. He also earned the respect of Philadelphia hip hop legend Will Smith on the ADHD cut “Will,” eventually getting the Fresh Prince himself on the track’s remix.

In a past interview with REVOLT, Joyner Lucas explained how he approaches creative, multi-layered releases like the viral success “I’m Not Racist”:

“I take the video-first approach… I write the video treatment before I come up with the actual [music]. Once I know what the video is going to be about, I go and create the record around the structure of the video. That approach works for me. That’s my lane. That’s what I do. The typical, average Joyner Lucas fan, they love that about me.”

Fans can press play on Evolution below.