clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

H.E.R. leads 2020 Soul Train Awards nominations — see the full list here

The awards show will air at 8 p.m. EST on Sunday, Nov. 29.

H.E.R. Getty

H.E.R. is leading the nominations for this year’s Soul Train Awards, which airs on Nov. 29. The Vallejo singer tallies eight nominations for the award ceremony, including Best Soul/ R&B Female Artist. Four of those nods are for H.E.R.’s collaboration with YG — “Slide” — which is nominated for Song of the Year, Video of the Year, Best Collaboration and The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award.

“Slow Down” — her song with Skip Marley — is also in the running for Best Collaboration and Video of the Year. H.E.R.’s moving single “I Can’t Breathe” nabbed her an additional nom for the Ashford and Simpson Songwriter Award.

For a close second, Chris Brown trails behind with seven nominations, several of which came from his joint project with Young Thug, Slime & B. Beyoncé and Thugger are tied for the next spot with six nods; followed by Chloe X Halle, Summer Walker and Usher — each with five. YG claimed four spots on this year’s nominations list; followed by Brandy and PJ Morton with three each.

Giveon, SAINt JHN, Snoh Aalegra, Victoria Monét and others were recognized in the Best New Artist category; while Kelly Rowland, Brandy, Monica and more will compete for the Soul Train Certified Award.

For the third year in a row, Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold will co-host the award show. The 2020 Soul Train Awards will begin with a one-hour pre-show starting at 7 p.m. EST, followed by the ceremony at 8 p.m. Tune in on BET, BET Her, VH1 or MTV2.

See the full list of nominees below.

Song of the Year:

Beyoncé – “Black Parade”

Chloe X Halle – “Do It”

Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

H.E.R. Feat. YG – “Slide”

Summer Walker & Usher – “Come Thru”

Usher Feat. Ella Mai – “Don’t Waste My Time”

Album of the Year:

Brandy - B7

Chloe X Halle - Ungodly Hour

Chris Brown & Young Thug - Slime & B

Jhené Aiko - Chilombo

Summer Walker - Over It

The Weeknd - After Hours

Video of the Year:

Beyoncé, Blue Ivy, Saint JHN & Wizkid – “Brown Skin Girl”

Chloe X Halle – “Do It”

Chris Brown – “Go Crazy” Feat. Young Thug

H.E.R. – “Slide” Feat. YG

Lizzo – “Good As Hell”

Skip Marley & H.E.R. – “Slow Down”

Best R&B/ Soul Female Artist:

Alicia Keys




Jhené Aiko

Summer Walker

Best R&B/ Soul Male Artist:

Anderson .Paak

Charlie Wilson

Chris Brown

PJ Morton

The Weeknd


Best Collaboration:

Chris Brown Feat. Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

H.E.R. Feat. YG – “Slide”

Ne-Yo Feat. Jeremih – “U 2 Luv”

Skip Marley & H.E.R. – “Slow Down”

Summer Walker & Usher – “Come Thru”

Usher Feat. Ella Mai – “Don’t Waste My Time”

Best New Artist:


Layton Greene


Saint JHN

Snoh Aalegra

Victoria Monét

Rhythm & Bars:

Cardi B Feat. Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

Dababy Feat. Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”

DJ Khaled Feat. Drake – “Popstar”

Drake Feat. Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”

Megan Thee Stallion – “Savage”

Roddy Ricch – “The Box”

Best Dance Performance:

Beyoncé, Shatta Wale & Major Lazer – “Already”

Chloe X Halle – “Do It”

Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

Danileigh Feat. Dababy – “Levi High”

Missy Elliott – “Why I Still Love You”

Teyana Taylor – “Bare Wit Me”

Best Gospel/ Inspirational Award:

Bebe Winans

Kirk Franklin

Koryn Hawthorne

Marvin Sapp

PJ Morton

The Clark Sisters

Soul Train Certified Award:



Kelly Rowland



PJ Morton

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award:

“Black Parade” – Written By: Akil King, Beyonce Knowles Carter, Brittany Coney, Denisia Andrews, Derek James Dixie, Kim “Kaydence” Krysiuk, Rickie Caso Tice, Shawn Carter, Stephen Bray (Beyoncé)

“Do It” – Written By: Chloe Bailey, Halle Bailey, Scott Storch, Victoria Monet, Vincent Van Den Ende, Anton Kuhl (Chloe X Halle)

“Go Crazy” – Written By: Cameron Devaun Murphy, Christopher Brown, Dounia Aznou, Jeffrey Lamar Williams, Johnny Kelvin, Kaniel Castaneda, Omari Akinlolu, Orville Hall, Patrizio Pigliapoco, Phillip Price, Said Aznou, Soraya Benjelloun, Tre Samuels, Turrell Sims, Wayne Samuels, Zakaria Kharbouch (Chris Brown & Young Thug)

“I Can’t Breathe” – Written By: H.E.R. (H.E.R.)

“Playing Games” – Written By: Summer Walker, Bryson Tiller, London Holmes, Kendall Roark Bailey, Cameron Griffin, Aubrey Robinson, Beyoncé Knowles, Kelendria Rowland, Letoya Luckett, Latavia Roberson, Lashawn Daniels, Fred Jerkins III, Rodney Jerkins (Summer Walker Feat. Bryson Tiller)

“Slide” – Written By: Charles Carter, Elijah Dias, H.E.R., Jermaine Dupri, Keenon Daequan Ray Jackson, Roger Parker, Ron Latour, Shawn Carter, Steven Arrington, Tiara Thomas, Waung Hankerson (H.E.R. Feat. YG)

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.