/  06.07.2021

Next month, the world will be able to hear Prince’s posthumous album Welcome 2 America, a project that was originally recorded back in 2010. Following the release of the self-titled single, fans can now enjoy another cut from the forthcoming drop titled “Born 2 Die,” which was first premiered via BBC Radio 6 this past weekend. Originally produced by Prince, bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, and drummer Chris Coleman, “Born 2 Die” later saw additional contributions from producer Morris Hayes and singers Shelby J, Liv Warfield, and Elise Fiorillo. Via press release, Hayes spoke on the meaning behind the socially charged effort, which was created partially as a result of strife within the Black community during President Barack Obama’s first year in office:

“We got to ‘Born 2 Die’ and Prince said, ‘I’ll tell you how that came about.’ He had been watching videos of his friend Dr. Cornel West on YouTube, and during one speech Dr. West said, ‘I love my brother Prince, but he’s no Curtis Mayfield.’ So Prince said, ‘Oh, really? We will see!’”

In regards to post-transition releases, Welcome 2 America follows the demo albums Piano and a Microphone 1983 and Originals, both of which made landfall in 2018 and 2019, respectively. Prince’s last official bodies of work, HITnRUN Phase One and HITnRUN Phase Two, were liberated back in 2015 — a year prior to his tragic passing.

Check out both “Born 2 Die” and the full tracklisting for Welcome 2 America, which officially arrives July 30.

Welcome 2 America tracklist:

  1. “Welcome 2 America”
  2. “Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)”
  3. “Born 2 Die”
  4. “1000 Light Years From Here”
  5. “Hot Summer”
  6. “Stand Up and B Strong”
  7. “Check the Record”
  8. “Same Page Different Book”
  9. “When She Comes (Original Version)”
  10. “1010 (Rin Tin Tin)”
  11. “Yes”
  12. “One Day We Will All B Free”


King Combs vs. Pardison Fontaine (Semi-Finals) | ‘The Crew League’ (S2, Ep. 6)

In the most dramatic Crew League game yet, King Combs and The CYN Mob battle against Pardison Fontaine ...
  /  07.09.2021

Mary J. Blige & Pepsi’s Strength Of A Woman Festival & Summit created a new space for Black women to celebrate

“The idea for the festival came to us after early listening sessions of my latest ...
  /  05.16.2022

Meet Joseph Kitonga, founder of Vitable Health

Joseph Kitonga dropped out of college and founded Vitable Health, which gives home health workers ...
  /  05.13.2022

Diddy details what to expect at the 2022 Billboard Music Awards

This “REVOLT Black News” segment features a sit-down interview with our Chairman Sean “Diddy” Combs, ...
  /  05.13.2022
View More