It’s quite evident that Ty Dolla $ign is going down as one of the greatest hook masters and collaborators the game has ever witnessed. Being ranked in the same category as Nate Dogg, T-Pain, Pharrell, and others, the L.A. crooner has served as an important staple in the music industry. Since the success of his first commercial hit single “Paranoid” back in 2014, Ty Dolla $ign hasn’t looked in his rear view mirror while simultaneously moving forward in cruise control. If the other memorable R&B releases weren’t enough for you thus far, you’re in luck because the Taylor Gang artist steps up to the plate with the release of his third studio album Featuring Ty Dolla $ign.

One of the standout cuts, “Be Yourself” featuring the sultry sounds of Jhene Aiko, is a great representation of the album overall and at this point, it’s safe to place Featuring Ty Dolla $ign as a contender for “classic” status in the near future. When discussing the thought process behind the album’s brilliant/witty name and how it came together in a lengthy Instagram post, Ty Dolla $ign talked about how he was grateful that people associate a feature from him as a trademark of great work as well as his thought process when creating:

My approach to music has always been about frequencies, emotions and energy. When I collaborate, whether it’s for my project or someone else’s, it’s always about marrying frequencies. When I create a project and have artists featured on my songs, I don’t pick who the hottest artist is or what’s going to get the most streams, I choose which artist’s frequency is going to work best on the song. I use featured artists with the same precision that I would use any instrument.

Equipped with 23 records in total, Ty Dolla $ign tapped on a number of his industry friends to contribute to the album: Kid Cudi, Post Malone, Kanye West, Anderson .Paak, Quavo, Lil Durk, Nicki Minaj, Big Sean, Roddy Ricch, Mustard, Jhene Aiko, Future, Kehlani, Future, Young Thug, Gunna and more!

Tap in below.