With so many new rap albums, mixtapes, EPs and songs dropping every week; knowing which ones are worth your time can be a challenge. But no worries, we’ll help smooth out the process with “Now N’ Laters,” a column that highlights the hottest new releases of the week and the songs you’ll want to listen to now — and later.

With the first two months of 2019 officially wrapped, the heavyhitters have began to emerge out of hibernation, leading to a loading slate of new albums as we kick off March. After following up his acclaimed 2017 album Pretty Girls Like Trap Music with last year’s The Play Don’t Care Who Makes It EP, 2 Chainz makes his return with Rap or Go to the League, which was A&R’d by basketball superstar LeBron James. With a handful of high-profile guest appearances and some of the hottest boardsmen in the game, this album looks to heighten the rapper’s star power even further. On the R&B tip, ‘Solange comes through with her highly anticipated fourth studio album, When I Get Home, which finds the soulful vanguard delivering another body of work that is cohesive and enthralling from top to bottom. And rounding out this week’s lineup of new music is T-Pain’s 1Up project; which includes features from Lil Wayne, Tory Lanez, O.T. Genasis, Boosie Badazz, Russ, and Flipp Dinero.

With all three releases getting airplay and dominating the conversation, REVOLT shares our critics’ picks for the three songs from each album that stand a cut above the rest and should be in your heavy rotation now — and later. Be sure to let us know what your favorites are.

2 Chainz: Rap or Go to the League

1. “NCAA”

The artist formerly known as Tity Boi takes the powers that govern collegiate sports to task on this booming selection, airing his grievances over production by Da Honorable C.N.O.T.E. “I use good pussy like it’s lotion,” 2 Chainz declares, as the baller-turned-rapper reels off arrogant quips in effortless fashion on this raucous number.

2. “Mama I Hit A Lick”

One song from 2 Chainz’s new album that serves as its climax is this star-studded effort, which finds the ATLien calling in two of hip hop’s biggest names to help him create a little magic. Produced by Pharrell Williams, and bolstered by Kendrick Lamar’s first guest verse of 2019, this rambunctious number assaults listeners ears with an amalgam of sounds and bars, making it one of the premier collaborations of the year, thus far.

3. “Rule The World”

After jumping on the remix to Ariana Grande’s hit single “7 Rings,” 2 Chainz joins forces with the pop star once again on this dreamy track. Produced by Hitmaka, Cardiak, Paul Cabbin, and Rob Holladay; and powered by a sample of R&B singer Amerie’s 2002 hit “Why Don’t We Fall In Love,” this standout finds 2 Chainz and Grande putting their own spin on the original with winning results.

Solange: When I Get Home

1. “Way to the Show”

Shades of Solange’s last effort, A Seat At The Table, can be found on this laid-back affair, which captures the songstress crooning about candy-paint over a quirky backdrop. Produced by John Kirby, John Key, and Solange — with additional vocals provided by Cassie — this composition is an infectious offering and primed to become one of the more popular cuts from this long player.

2. “Almeda”

Solange throws the kitchen sink into this woozy offering; which features production from John Kirby, Pharrell, and Solange herself. Boasting guest spots from The-Dream and Playboi Carti — with backing vocals from Metro Boomin — this selection sees Solange drawing inspiration from her Texas roots, while keeping things unapologetically black.

3. “Jerrod”

“Call me, baby, say that you want it,” Solange purrs on this quickstrike tune, which finds the free-spirited creative layering vocals over digitized keys. Produced by John Kirby, John Key and Solange herself; the Grammy award-winner gets sultry, turning in one of her more enchanting performances on her latest solo set.

T-Pain: 1Up

1. “Getcha Roll On”

T-Pain takes a page out of the book of Cash Money duo the Big Tymers with this charged-up banger, which finds him collaborating with Canadian export Tory Lanez. Produced by Girl Talk, this club-ready salvo finds the auto-tune king re-inventing one of the classic anthems from the late ’90s and gets our instant nod of approval.

2. “A Million Times”

“Baby, it’s that time and I’m so glad you waited,” T-Pain declares on this delightful ditty from the Tallahasse native’s latest project, which boasts production by Dave Cappa, Aphillyation, and Tyler Rohn. Anchored with a clutch performance by west coaster O.T. Genasis, the proceedings are among the best on the tracklist, and a reminder of T-Pain’s ability to take infectious melodies and transform them into radio-friendly smashes.

3. “Goat Talk”

T-Pain’s latest collection of tracks includes this engrossing closeout cut, which pairs the hip hop Teddy Pendergrass with Lil Wayne on this cocksure salvo, which finds the two southern titans listing off their accolades. And with T-Pain’s recent announcement that T-Wayne 2 — the sequel to him and Weezy’s ballyhooed 2017 collaborative effort — is on the way, this Bishop Jones-produced number makes a great appetizer for the forthcoming main course.

More by Preezy Brown: