clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Now N' Laters I Big K.R.I.T., Curren$y & Berner, AD & Sorry Jaynari

Whose project are you listening to?

With so many new rap albums, mixtapes, EPs and songs dropping every week; knowing which ones are worth your time can be a challenge. But no worries, we'll help smooth out the process with "Now N' Laters," a column that highlights the hottest new releases of the week and the songs you'll want to listen to now — and later.

This week's lineup includes the return of one of the premier lyricists out of the south, a collaborative project for the smokers and a long player from an up-and-coming duo with the potential to make major waves. Picking up where he left off with his last release, TDT, Big K.R.I.T. comes through with his new album, "K.R.I.T. IZ Here," which finds the Mississippi native reminding listeners why he's regarded as one of the elite spitters in the game. Curren$y and Berner concentrate their forces for "Pheno Grigio," which finds the tandem matching slick raps with sublime beats to create the ambiance. And last, but not least, AD & Sorry Jaynari put forth their latest effort, "By The Way 2," which finds the pair teaming up with an array of spitters out of the left coast and beyond.

With all three releases getting airplay and dominating the conversation, REVOLT shares our critics' picks for the three songs from each album that stand a cut above the rest and should be in your heavy rotation now -- and later. Be sure to let us know what your favorites are.

Big K.R.I.T.: K.R.I.T. IZ HERE

1. "Addiction"

Big K.R.I.T. gets aquatic on this silky groove from the southern gent's latest body of work. Produced by Rico Love and Don Corleone, the track boasts hook work from Saweetie, as well as Lil Wayne, who continues his return to form with another brilliant stanza to add to his resume of guest spots.

2. "I Made"

Grant Strumwasser, Mike Hector, and Wallis Lane provide the backdrop for this rollicking selection, which pairs B.I.G. K.R.I.T. with rising star Yella Beezy. Laying his game down over 808s and synths, K.R.I.T. runs roughshod, while Beezy lends his vocals on the hook, which accounts for a standout collaborative effort.

3. "Prove It"

Two titans collide when J. Cole teams up with Big K.R.I.T. for this high-powered collaboration from the latter's new collection of slappers. Produced by WOLFE de MCHLS, this salvo finds the pair showing and proving on the lyrical tip, resulting in one of the superior offerings from K.R.I.T.'s latest long player.

Curren$y & Berner: Pheno Grigio

1. "Reasons"

Curren$y and Berner prioritize maintaining over complaining on this selection from the pair's joint-project. Gliding over a ghastly vocal sample and 808s, the rolling stoners take account of the fruits of their labor on this mellow number.

2. "Gangsta Shit"

West coast vibes are presented with this jam from Curren$y and Berner, as the tandem match wits with G Perico and Kokane. Produced by Daz Dillinger, this mid-tempo offering is sure to coax listeners into a two-step and is primed for continuous spins.

3. "Head Stash"

Tokers rejoice as B-Real joins Curren$y and Berner partake in a cypher over a sample of Sade's "No Ordinary Love." Waxing poetic about the grade of their party packs, the trio turn in a potent selection with this offering.

AD & Sorry Jaynari: By The Way 2

1. "Bruce Lee"

AD and Sorry Jaynari craft an infectious salvo with this introductory track, which entices listeners to hit the dance-floor. Featuring an appearance from AzChike, this tune kicks the duo's latest project off in grand fashion.

2. "Slide"

Matters of the heart get broached on this outing, which boasts guest vocals from Trey Songz. Powered by a pulsating sound-bed, this tune finds the trio airing sentiments and doling out ultimatums, and has the makings of a sleeper hit.

3. "Pavement"

AD and Sorry Jaynari take things to the concrete on this menacing cut, which finds the dynamic duo holding court alongside Saviii 3rd and Rucci. Rhyming over claps and percussion, the quartet sends idle threats and give fair warning to the opposition on this highlight.

More by Preezy Brown:

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.