clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Now N' Laters | Wiz Khalifa & Curren$y, Sean Price & Small Professor, Boston George & Slim Thug

With all three releases dominating the conversation, REVOLT shares our critics' picks for the three songs from each album that stand a cut above the rest.

With so many new rap albums, mixtapes, EPs and songs dropping every week; knowing which ones are worth your time can be a challenge. But no worries, we'll help smooth out the process with "Now N' Laters," a column that highlights the hottest new releases of the week and the songs you'll want to listen to now — and later.

In a week loaded with new album releases and high-profile singles, the playing field for airtime is highly competitive. But, these three projects should be at the top of your list. One of hip hop's favorite tandems join forces once again, as Wiz Khalifa and Curren$y attempt to recreate the magic of their previous projects with their third joint effort, 2009. It's been nearly four years since his untimely passing. But, Brooklyn rap legend Sean Price's spirit continues to live on with 86 Witness, the late spitter's posthumous collaborative project with producer Small Professor. And to round out this week's list of side projects is Big Bad Boston and The Boss, a release that pairs Houston OG Slim Thug with fellow H-Town rep Boston George for a 10-track outing that's full of firepower.

With all three releases getting airplay and dominating the conversation, REVOLT shares our critics' picks for the three songs from each album that stand a cut above the rest and should be in heavy rotation now in your playlist now -- and later. Be sure to let us know what your favorites are.

Wiz Khalifa & Curren$y: 2009

1. "Garage Talk"

Producer Dame Grease constructs a vintage-sounding backdrop for Wiz and Curren$y to style over on this opening number from the pair's latest long player. Laying down braggadocios musings sans a hook over steel drums and digitized keys, two of rap's favorite stoners reconnect without missing a beat.

2. "Benz Boys"

Curren$y and [Wiz craft an ode to high-end]9 Mercedes Benzs and lavish living on this Ty Dolla $ign-assisted highlight. Produced by Dame Grease, who litters the track with stirring piano keys and ominous wails, this selection captures all three artists focusing on their cash flow.

3. "From The Start"

This groovy banger finds Curren$y in a "Vice City" state of mind, kicking slick musings over production by DJ Fresh, who turns in a hypnotic instrumental that captures listeners instantly. Wiz turns in an exceptional showing of his own, while vocalist Taylor Thompson's hook work gives this track added appeal.

Sean Price & Small Professor: 86 Witness

1. "Latoya Jackson"

On this distinct tune, Small Professor lays down an off-kilter backdrop for Sean Price to kick bars over, while pummeling the beat. Featuring a guest verse from Quelle Chris and record scratches provided by DJ Revolution, this namesake to the black sheep of the Jackson family is sure to keep the listeners engaged from beginning to end.

2. "Midnight Rounds"

Sean Price plays lyrical three-card molly with guests Elucid and Castle on this militant high point from the Brooklyn rhymer's posthumous effort. Produced by Small Professor -- who gets surgical with a tumbling drum rolls, flutes and a dramatic horn sample; this menacing selection includes enough brutal couplets to leave the bravest MC stricken with fear.

3. "John Gotti"

Intricate wordplay and clever one-liners are the main draws of this performance by Sean Price, who is joined by a grouping of some of the grittiest rhyme slingers on the indie circuit. Featuring AG Da Coroner, Guilty Simpson and Your Old Droog; this collaborative effort is the album's crown jewel and the equivalent of audio freebase.

Boston George & Slim Thug: Big Bad Boston and The Boss

1. "How We Move"

Slim Thug wastes no time making his presence felt on this explosive first impression from him and Boston George's new joint effort. Taking it from the streets to the club, the tandem spout out cocksure couplets, while scoffing at the competition on this 808-driven selection.

2. "Big Boy Shit"

Thugger and Boston put forth another strong tune by teaming up with XO for this introspective offering. Doing their bidding over a sample of Mary J. Blige's 1992 hit "You Remind Me," the costars come to grips with reality and the consequences that accompany life in the streets on this weighty composition.

3. "Count Me Out"

"So many times, they tried to bring me down" croons Yung AI on this reflective salvo, which finds Slim Thug and Boston George recollecting on the opportunists and naysayers in their present and past. One of the album's more pensive moments, this song is equal parts vulnerable as it is triumphant, as the two rappers celebrate surviving their moments of struggle.

More by Preezy Brown:

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.