clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

"The Get Down" soundtrack is looking promising

Executive producer Nas appears on it, too.

With so many new music-fueled shows coming soon to our small screens, from B.I.G. to Beatles-inspired, it's easy to get overwhelmed, but if there's one we're especially looking forward to, it's Netflix's "The Get Down."

The Baz Luhrmann-created series follows a group of teens in 1970s New York and tells the story of the birth of hip-hop, punk and disco amidst the city's financial turmoil. It stars Shameik Moore (of Dope fame) and Jaden Smith, and Nas—who just recently saw the release of his own coming-of-age film "The Land"—is serving as one of its executive producers.

Now we've got news about the series' accompanying soundtrack, and it's shaping up to be just as promising. According to a press release, the album will feature Nas, Christina Aguilera, Zayn, Michael Kiwanuka, Leon Bridges, Jaden Smith, Raury, Grandmaster Flash, Malay, Nile Rodgers, and more on its tracklisting.

Lurhmann shared a note about the soundtrack, as well:

"This album is an introduction to the many musical genres and styles that can be heard in 'The Get Down,' which is really a story of New York in the late ’70s, an incredibly fertile time of creativity amid chaos. While our production is a musical that embodies many classic hits, we also use contemporary sounds and techniques connecting the dots between then and now. My great privilege is to have associated with such a diverse musical community."

The soundtrack will be released exclusively on Apple Music on August 12, the same day the first half of the 12-episode season premieres.

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.