clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Maxwell Unveils New Album Cover, Tracklisting, & 'Lake By The Ocean' Video

The second installment in 'blackSUMMERS'night' is here.

Artist // YouTube

After seven long years, the second installment in Maxwell's blackSUMMERS'night trilogy is officially on its way.

Due July 1, the album features 12 songs and each was revealed with a carefully-selected, accompanying image on the photo-sharing site VSCO. Maxwell curated the compilation, calling each picture a "visual interpretation" of its corresponding song, and unveiled the album's cover too, featuring the singer looking dapper as ever in a striped suit.

"Lake By The Ocean," the lead single off the upcoming effort, also received its visual treatment. The music video, which Maxwell returned to his mother's homeland of Haiti to film, follows the island's natives as they drink, wash, play in, and transport water, before its main character is seen commuting from the countryside to the city streets to see Maxwell perform at a club. And, as it turns out, she's more than a fan that watches from afar.

blackSUMMERS'night tracklist:

1. "All the Ways Love Can Feel"

2. "The Fall"

3. "Ill"

4. "Lake by the Ocean"

5. "Fingers Crossed"

6. "Hostage"

7. "1990x"

8. "Gods"

9. "Lost"

10. "Of All Kind"

11. "Listen Hear"

12. "Night"

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.