clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The xx share new album title, artwork, and the Hall & Oates-sampling first single

"On Hold" for now, but 'I See You' in January.

Artist(s) // Facebook

As predicted, the xx's third album is on its way.

After a Reddit user spotted possible titles of the LP and its songs on the music discovery app Shazam earlier this week, the band confirmed the details today via Twitter, along with revealing the album's artwork and announcing its lead single.

Much like their previous efforts, the album's cover features solely their logo, an oversized and block-lettered 'x,' this time sketched in silver over smudges of black and blue.

Produced, of course, by bandmember Jamie xx—who sat behind the boards of Drake's "Take Care," Frank Ocean's "Ivy," and Alicia Keys' "When It's All Over"—along with Rodaidh McDonald, third effort I See You was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Texas, Iceland, Los Angeles, and London, and boasts 10 tracks (with three extra on the deluxe version).

See the listing below:

1 - Dangerous

2 - Say Something Loving

3 - Lips

4 - A Violent Noise

5 - Performance

6 - Replica

7 - Brave For You

8 - On Hold

9 - I Dare You

10 - Test Me

Box set bonus vinyl:

A1 - Naive

B1 - Seasons Run

B2 - Brave For You (Marfa Demo)

Lead single "On Hold" prominently samples Hall and Oates' 1981 hit "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)," but first starts off with vocalists Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim crooning over slowed ethereal synths before picking up the pace on a skittering, pitch-shifted chorus that gives nod to the syncopated percussion of '80s freestyle music.

The trio will perform on Saturday Night Live on November 11 while Kristen Wiig hosts.

'I See You' is out January 13.

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.