clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

N.W.A. Lead 2016 Rock Hall Of Fame Inductees

It's been a momentous year for the Compton group.

Raymond Boyd // Getty Images

It only took 27 years, but now it seems America respects the power of street knowledge.

N.W.A. has been selected for induction to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, this after being criminally bypassed the past two years. Musical acts are eligible for the honor 25 years after their debut. The Compton group, consisting of Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Dr. Dre, MC Ren and DJ Yella (shouts to Arabian Prince) will be celebrated in 2016, along with Cheap Trick, Chicago, Deep Purple and Steve Miller.

Janet Jackson was among the noteworthy acts who didn't receive enough votes for induction.

The induction ceremony will take place in April, 2016.

Sign up for the newsletter Join the revolution.

Get REVOLT updates weekly so you don’t miss a thing.